Account and privacy settings in WooCommerce are about setting up your customers’ accounts. You have some basic settings. We will go through them gradually.
Account and privacy settings – order without registration
Here you can choose from two options:
- Allow customers to send an order without registration – orders will not be associated with their account.
- Allow customers to log in to an existing checkout account – if the customer does not log in to their account earlier, they will be prompted to do so at the checkout.
Creating an account
In this section, you choose where you want customers to create an account. It will be either at checkout at the time of purchase or on the My Account page (this is one of the four pages that WooCommerce created on your site during installation).
The second two lines in this part of the page are dedicated to generating the customer’s username and password:
When creating a new account, automatically generate a username from the customer’s e-mail address – if you leave the field blank when this option is selected, the customer will be able to choose the username himself. If you check it, the system will generate it based on its email.
Automatically generate password when creating a new account – the box in this line has a similar function. Check to generate a system password. If you leave it free, the customer will be able to choose it.
Account deletion requests
Delete personal data from orders – when a customer asks you to delete their personal data, check this box to delete their personal data from all their orders. If you leave it blank, the details in your orders will remain unchanged.
Remove download access – This option applies to downloadable products purchased by a customer who has requested the deletion of personal information. If you check it, access to the download files will be revoked and the download logs will be removed when the account deletion request is processed. The customer will no longer have access to the downloadable products they have purchased.
Preservation of personal data
In the last part of the account and privacy settings page, you choose how long you will keep your personal data when it is no longer needed for processing . Do not complete this option if you want to keep the data indefinitely. You set the retention period for pending orders, inactive accounts, canceled orders, and so on.
For more information, see the official documentation: docs.woocommerce.com