Instructions on how to add users to WordPress, how to choose the right role for them, how to limit their permissions and how to delete a selected user.
You will probably have other users on your site besides you. After selecting the Users option in the WordPress Administration menu a list of site accounts is displayed. Here you can also add new accounts and edit their tasks.
List of users in WordPress
At the top of the list, you’ll find options to filter the list of users based on their role. In addition to each type of role, a number is also displayed there showing how many accounts this particular role has.
After hovering over the name of one of your accounts, you’ll see a few links:
Edit – this function allows you to edit a user profile.
Delete – if you choose this option, you will delete the user. You do not have this feature in your profile.
After installing WordPress theme, an administrator account is automatically created. WordPress users have at least one of the five roles assigned to them by the site’s main administrator:
Subscriber – only has access to manage his own profile.
Co-creator – he can write and manage his own entries, but he can’t publish them.
Author – the author publishes and manages his own entries.
Editor – can publish and manage your own pages and entries. In addition, it can also manage entries from other accounts.
Administrator – the administrator has access to all administrator functions.
You can change the rights of each role using the User Role Editor plugin. You can change the permissions for existing roles, but also create new roles. Here’s a preview of the settings for this plugin:
Adding a new account
To add a new account to your WordPress site, click Add new in the user list. You will find it at the top of the page. An alternative procedure is to click Add new in the sidebar of the admin menu.
A new window will open in which you will fill each item:
Username – this item is required. Enter the person’s name here. This name cannot be changed after creating a new account.
Email – This item is also mandatory. Enter the person’s email address. At this address he will receive notifications of approved comments, which will be added to his entries.
First and last name – enter the name of the person if you want. These fields are not required.
Website address – here you can enter the URL address of a person.
Password – a new password will be generated for the new user after clicking the Show password button. WordPress automatically creates a strong password. You can also change this password. WordPress will not allow you to add a new user unless you have set a medium strong password. If you change the password, use symbols such as? € ‹&! and so on.
Sending notification to the user – you can check in this line whether you want to send an email to the new user about his account.
Role – here you choose the role you want to assign to the account.
Use the Delete option to delete the account. It will appear under the account name when you hover over it. This feature is not available if the user is currently connected to the site.
When deleting your account, the system will ask you what you want to do with the posts that person added to your site. It offers the following options:
Delete all content – deletes all user-created content from the page.
Assign all content to user – assigns all user content to another selected account.
Click Confirm Deletion to finish deleting the account.
WordPress users – conclusion
When creating users, pay attention to choosing the right role and a strong password. This avoids security threats.